戴德生的蒙召


『一八六五年六月二十五日的主日,我獨自漫步在沙灘上,靈裡有極大的痛苦,因我無法忍受一面看見成千上萬的基督徒在教會裡安全地喜樂歡唱,另一面卻看見數以百萬的人因著不認識神而處於滅亡的刀口上;在那裡,主克服了我的不信,我為了這個事工將自己降服於祂。我告訴祂,這件事及其結果必須全由祂負責;身為祂的僕人,我的責任是順從並跟隨祂﹣而祂的責任是指示、看顧、引導我以及那些將來可能會與我同工的人。我還需要說立刻有一股平安流入了我充滿重擔的心嗎?當下我求祂賜給我二十四位同工,十一個沒有宣教師的內地省份,每個省兩位,另外兩位給蒙古;我將這項祈求寫在我隨身攜帶的聖經裡,然後帶著一顆享受安息的心回家。』

戴德生

"On Sunday, June 25th, 1865, unable to bear the sight of a congregation of a thousand or more Christian people rejoicing in their own security, while millions were perishing from lack of knowledge, I wandered out on the sands alone, in great spiritual agony; and there the Lord conquered my unbelief, and I surrendered myself to God for this service.

I told Him that all the responsibility as to issues and consequences must rest with Him; that as His servant, it was mine to obey and to follow Him — His to direct, to care for, and to guide me and those who might labor with me. Need I say that peace at once flowed into my burdened heart?

There and then I asked Him for twenty-four fellow-workers, two for each of eleven inland provinces (of China) which were without a missionary, and two for Mongolia; and writing the petition on the margin of the Bible I had with me, I returned home with a heart enjoying rest such as it had been a stranger to for months, and with an assurance that the Lord would bless His own work and that I should share in the blessing."

- Hudson Taylor